Buzzworthy Books 2017 From Harper Collins Canada

Buzzworthy Books is a semi-annual series on Pop! Goes The Reader in which my nearest and dearest friends in publishing discuss the books they’re most excited about releasing from their respective publishing houses in the following six months.


About Ashley Posluns

My name is Ashley and I’m the Digital Marketing Assistant at HarperCollins Canada! As you can probably assume, I love books. I also really like cheese, and Gilmore Girls, and pasta, and pens (in that order…sometimes). You can follow me on Twitter to find out about all the other weird things I love @AshleyPosluns.

To Be Published February 7th, 2017 by HarperTeen
GoodreadsAmazonChaptersThe Book Depository

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire — leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

King’s Cage is almost here!!!! February 7th!!! Mark your calendars!!!! We all know that waiting for the next book in a series is painful, but I assure you that this book’s birthday will be better than Christmas day. Side note: If you haven’t read this series yet, definitely start now.




To Be Published February 28th, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
GoodreadsAmazonChaptersThe Book Depository

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Angie Thomas’s searing debut about an ordinary girl in extraordinary circumstances addresses issues of racism and police violence with intelligence, heart, and unflinching honesty. Soon to be a major motion picture from Fox 2000/Temple Hill Productions.

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does — or does not — say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

It’s really hard for me to put this one into words, but I’m just really excited for Angie Thomas’s story to take over the YA book world. This book made me feel ALL the feels — like I actually laughed out loud but also ugly cried several times — and it’s just an important story. So read it.




To Be Published March 7th, 2017 by HarperTrophy
GoodreadsAmazonChaptersThe Book Depository

Embarrassed by your brother? Estranged from your uncle? Then you might need some help from Almost Family Surrogate Agency. Cam Redden and his dad are rent-a-relatives, available for hire to anyone looking to upgrade.

Cam’s job is all about being whoever other people want him to be. Then two new clients come along. Albertina is an old lady with a big mouth, a bigger wig and a serious mission. Raylene is a beautiful girl with a nose ring, a wonky eye and a painful secret. Now to get to the bottom of the tragic mysteries that fuel them both, Cam may finally have to be himself.

Relatable? Yes. (Seriously, who wouldn’t want to upgrade their relatives…at least sometimes). Hilarious? Yes. Heartwrenching? Yes. Everything I want in a book? Yes. Yes. Yes.




To Be Published April 11th, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
GoodreadsAmazonChaptersThe Book Depository

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love – she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness – except for the part where she is.

Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. More than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a Tolkien superman with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

Of all the books I know are being released in 2017, this is probably the one I’m most excited about. Because it’s Becky Albertalli, and because I loved (LOVED) Simon VS. Also Julie Murphy said she has a crush on this book, so I do too (and I haven’t even read it yet).




To Be Published April 18th, 2017 by HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray
GoodreadsAmazonChaptersThe Book Depository

From the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days and How To Love comes a stunning new contemporary novel — all about boy bands, girl bands, best friends, and first love — perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She’s the talented one, the one who’s been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, is the levelheaded one, always on the sidelines, cheering Olivia on.

But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift…and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime — if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

I just read my first ever Katie Cotugno book (99 Days) over the holidays and being a huge Sarah Dessen fan, I instantly fell in love. I’m super excited for Fireworks because its set in the 90s and is about boy bands (Backstreet Boys?) and girl bands (Spice Girls?), so, yeah.




To Be Published May 9th, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
GoodreadsAmazonChaptersThe Book Depository

From Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ and Side Effects May Vary, comes another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she’s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool. But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke. Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

Speaking of Julie Murphy… For any Dumplin’ fans out there, get excited, because she is back in action (like romance/friends/family kind of action). I didn’t put this one down until it was done, and I’d lay bets that you won’t be able to either.

4 responses to “Buzzworthy Books 2017 From Harper Collins Canada”

  1. Alexa S. says:

    So excited for Fireworks because I LOVE Katie Cotugno and her books!

  2. su says:

    Hey, I have a question – some time ago I saw on goodreads a book that I don’t remember the title of and I really want to read it 🙁 I can’t find it anywhere and I thought that maybe you know what it is. From what I remember the book is about a girl whose brother was generally a good guy and everyobody in their town liked him and then he caused an accident while he was driving under influence, in which somebody died (if I remember correctly). And after that her brother was in coma. I have no idea what’s the name of the book or how the cover looked like, but I would really like to read it 🙁 I hope that you could help 🙂 greetings from Poland!

  3. Tasya says:

    i’m so exicted for fireworks and the hate u give!
    Tasya recently posted…The Slump is Strong Within Me // February Wrap Up & March TBRMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge