The Writing’s On The Wall: The Trouble With Destiny

The Writing’s On The Wall is a regular feature on Pop! Goes The Reader in which I create desktop wallpapers inspired by some of my favourite novels, authors, and literary quotes.

This past weekend I spent an absolutely glorious, sunny Saturday devouring Lauren Morrill’s The Trouble With Destiny, a delightful, fun-filled romp about finding answers, and love, in the most unexpected of places. Perfect for fans of Robin Benway’s Audrey, Wait! and Lindsey Leavitt’s The Chapel Wars, The Trouble With Destiny tells the story of high school junior, Liza Sanders, a plucky, ambitious heroine determined to save her school’s marching band from looming budget cuts. While the rest of Liza’s teammates believe they are preparing for the most fun spring break ever, participating in a performing arts competition on a cruise ship, only Liza knows that winning the contest – and the accompanying $25,000 prize – is all that stands between the marching band and its imminent extinction.

Morrill’s latest is the stuff that 1990’s teen romantic comedies are made of and would make an excellent addition to anyone’s beach bag this summer. Liza is tenacious and unafraid to unabashedly pursue what she wants most, even if it means making a few mistakes, and owning up to them, along the way. With an absolutely adorable love interest, a supportive (and hilarious) cast of secondary characters and gentle lessons about the importance of second chances and looking beneath the surface and discovering – and appreciating – the person within, The Trouble With Destiny is a woefully under-appreciated gem. As Liza grapples with the enormity of her secret and the sudden reappearance of a certain boy from her past, it will take all of her cunning and creativity, along with more than a little help from her friends, to make sure the band keeps marching along.

“Destiny, it turns out, is not at all what I expected.”

Title The Trouble With Destiny
Author Lauren Morrill
Published December 8th, 2015 by Delacorte
Pages 263 Pages
Intended Target Audience Young Adult
Genre & Keywords Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Find It On GoodreadsAmazon.comChapters

It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey…

With her trusty baton and six insanely organized clipboards, drum major Liza Sanders is about to take Destiny by storm — the boat, that is. When Liza discovered that her beloved band was losing funding, she found Destiny, a luxury cruise ship complete with pools, midnight chocolate buffets, and a $25,000 spring break talent show prize.

Liza can’t imagine senior year without the band, and nothing will distract her from achieving victory. She’s therefore not interested when her old camp crush, Lenny, shows up on board, looking shockingly hipster-hot. And she’s especially not interested in Russ, the probably-as-dumb-as-he-is-cute prankster jock whose ex, Demi, happens be Liza’s ex–best friend and leader of the Athenas, a show choir that’s the band’s greatest competition.

But it’s not going to be smooth sailing. After the Destiny breaks down, all of Liza’s best-laid plans start to go awry. Liza likes to think of herself as an expert at almost everything, but when it comes to love, she’s about to find herself lost at sea.


1280×800 » 1440×900 » 1680×1050 » 1920×1200 » 2560×1400 » iPhone 6 » iPad


1280×800 » 1440×900 » 1680×1050 » 1920×1200 » 2560×1400 » iPhone 6 » iPad

What book would you like to see made into a desktop wallpaper next? Let me know in the comments – I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge