Waiting On…Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine!



This week I’m waiting on…

Title Don’t Touch
Author Rachel M. Wilson
Pages 432 Pages
Genre Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Mental Illness
Publisher HarperTeen
To Be Published September 2nd, 2014
Find It On Goodreads

A powerful story of a girl who is afraid to touch another person’s skin, until the boy auditioning for Hamlet opposite her Ophelia gives her a reason to overcome her fears.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.

Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together…which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.

It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role — and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter — but the other part isn’t sure she’s brave enough to let herself fall.

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who’s fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her.

Don’t Touch is an upcoming publication that’s near and dear to my heart and one I knew I wanted to read the instant I saw the synopsis. While thankfully my condition is not nearly as severe as Caddie’s, I’ve struggled with anxiety and obsessive compulsive disorder for a number of years now. As nice as it is to read stories that transport one to other worlds and allow exposure to people, places and things previously unknown to them, there’s something equally comforting and important about seeing one’s own story reflected in the pages of a book. My heart aches for Callie and her struggle to forge a connection despite an insidious mental illness that threatens to cripple her at every possible turn and I can’t wait to see how her story will unfold. The fact that this novel is also being billed as “perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson” is the cherry on top of an already extremely enticing sundae. Thankfully, I was lucky enough to receive a digital advance reader copy of Don’t Touch from the publisher and I’ll be counting the days until this novel is next up on my review schedule and I can finally experience it firsthand.

11 responses to “Waiting On…Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson”

  1. Ashley says:

    This one sounds really good, and I love the cover.
    Ashley recently posted…Waiting on Wed: Mary the summoning by Hillary MonahanMy Profile

  2. Ahhh! I just got this from HarperTeen yesterday! I can’t wait to read it! GREAT PICK!
    Stephanie @ No BS Book Reviews recently posted…Waiting On Wednesday: Bitter Greens by Kate ForsythMy Profile

  3. Milka says:

    I am beyond excited for this one. I am a sucker for YA books which has school theatre productions of some sorts and this seems not to be one of the cutesy ones but rather than a more serious read.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Milka recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday (#14)My Profile

  4. Tanja says:

    I have seen this one around and I really want to read it as I usually like books that deal with some serious issue. They usually have that depth I need. I really hope you’ll get to read it. Great pick 🙂
    Tanja recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday (#105)My Profile

  5. Oh haven’t heard of this one before. But sounds interesting. great pick this week.

    Feel Free To Check Out My WOW Pick

  6. Jen says:

    Oh, I didn’t know you suffered kind of the same thing as Callie! I can see why you would want to read this book now. I don’t suffer the same conditions, but I’m definitely intrigued by this synopsis! I love reading about characters who have a passion for theater. Lovely pick, I hope you get to read it soon, Jen!
    Jen recently posted…I Am Currently In Fangirl ModeMy Profile

  7. Fiza @ I'll Read Till I Drop says:

    I get why you’re wanting to read this, guess you will be closer to Callie than any one of us 🙂

    Hope it will live up to your expectations!

    My WoW

  8. Sarah says:

    I’m eagerly anticipating this one too! Thankfully I was able to hop on an ARC tour for it and should be able to get read it soon. Cannot wait!
    Sarah recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday: Isla & the Happily Ever After by Stephanie PerkinsMy Profile

  9. Danya says:

    This was one of my WoW picks a little while ago. I’m always on the lookout for psychology and mental health-related YA, and I particularly like that this one also has a theatrical storyline/element to it! Just hoping that the psychology is portrayed accurately (I majored in psych, so it’s always a pet peeve with me when something is incorrectly portrayed.)
    Danya recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday: The Sin Eater’s Daughter and The Paper MagicianMy Profile

  10. Thanks for picking Don’t Touch! I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge