Waiting On…Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine!

This week I’m waiting on…

Title Falling Into Place
Author Amy Zhang
Pages 304 Pages
Genre Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction
Publisher Greenwillow Books
To Be Published September 9th, 2014
Find It On Goodreads

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force — Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

There are few things I find more exciting than the prospect of a debut novel. The possibility of discovering a new voice, a new favourite book, an author whose work I can love and celebrate for years to come, is simply too much to resist, and few 2014 debut titles have intrigued me more than Amy Zhang’s Falling Into Place. I love the intrigue. The ambiguity. The mystery. Most of all, however, I love the creativity of the concept itself. Non-linear narratives can be difficult, both to execute and to follow, but when done correctly, are unparalleled when it comes to the depth and scope of the tale being told. I’m all the more curious about this book given what we know (or in this case, don’t know) about the narrator. From whose perspective is this story being told? There are so many unanswered questions and I can hardly wait to unearth the answers to each and every one of them. September cannot possibly arrive soon enough!

16 responses to “Waiting On…Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang”

  1. Smarty says:

    Sounds really exciting – nice choice
    I hope you’ll enjoy it 🙂

    Yours
    Smarty
    Smarty recently posted…Beta – Waiting on WednesdayMy Profile

  2. Alysia says:

    I’ve been seeing this one mentioned, it seems interesting! Hope it doesn’t disappoint, I have it on my tbr as well.
    Alysia recently posted…Waiting on Landline by Rainbow Rowell (#6)My Profile

  3. I read somewhere who the narrator is, and it’s definitely an interesting idea that I’m curious to see how it works! You’re so right that non-linear narratives are hard, but this one has a lot of potential. Great pick! 😀
    Rachel @ Paper Cuts recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray {45}My Profile

  4. Nobody says:

    Oh, I so can’t wait for this book, it sounds so intriguing and mysterious =)
    Nobody recently posted…Waiting On Wednesday #15My Profile

  5. Fi says:

    Great pick, I hadn’t heard of this one before this week but I loved the first two books in Kat Zhang’s Hybrid trilogy so will definitely give this one a go.
    Fi recently posted…Waiting On Wednesday #77 – CrushedMy Profile

  6. Milka says:

    This one sounds fantastic, and since it says that fans of Jay Asher, Lauren Oliver and Gayle Forman should enjoy this, I definitely to keep it on my radar. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing and have a good day!
    Milka recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday (#7)My Profile

  7. Ashley says:

    What an interesting concept! Can’t wait to delve in.
    Ashley recently posted…lit.review: A Single Breath by Lucy ClarkeMy Profile

  8. Stephie Lynn says:

    I love a debut novel and I do love Gayle Forman, so I do hope it is true that it will appeal to that crowd. Thanks for sharing.
    What We’re Waiting For…
    Stephie Lynn recently posted…Waiting On WednesdayMy Profile

  9. Kirsty-Marie says:

    Firstly, loving the cover, especially because of what it’s about, it sounds great though. Emotional, and definitely a thought-provoking one though. 🙂
    Kirsty-Marie recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday (#45)My Profile

  10. I also love debut novels and the hopes of finding a totally new book and author! I’ve heard a little bit about this book around the blogosphere and I definitely sounds like something I might enjoy! Awesome choice this week 🙂 Check out my WoW:

    Crystal @ Books Unbound
    Crystal Grant recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday (118)My Profile

  11. I saw this a few weeks ago, it looked really interesting. And I agree, there’s nothing more exciting than finding a new author’s work!
    Jenny @ Reading on the Farm recently posted…“Waiting On” Wednesday: Ruin and RisingMy Profile

  12. Nemo says:

    I can just tell this ones going to be a best seller, it looks amazing great pick!
    Here’s my pick

  13. alice-jane says:

    AHHHHHH this has been on my radar since forever and I remember when she sold the book to Harper. I’m so happy for Amy and I can’t wait to read her book!
    alice-jane recently posted…Guide to Northern California + Campbell BookstoreMy Profile

  14. Sometimes I think we may be soul sisters. This book cannot come out soon enough. If I can, I will try to pick a copy up for you at BEA. 😉
    Jenna (@jennadoesbooks) recently posted…Mid Week Musings: Did Somebody Say DNF??My Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge