Cover Reveal: How To Hang A Witch by Adriana Mather

Try as we might, no reader or blogger can know all things about all stories. The unfortunate consequence of this is that otherwise spectacular novels may unintentionally go overlooked due to the sheer volume published each year. Adriana Mather’s How To Hang A Witch was nearly one such story for me, a novel so rich in history, so unique in concept and so compelling in social commentary as to now render it one of my must-reads of 2016. Thanks to the intercession of author and friend, Jeff Zentner, however, I have now not only happily added the novel to my own Goodreads’ shelves but also have the immense pleasure of hosting the exclusive cover reveal today. Please read on to learn a little more about Adriana, How To Hang A Witch, and to enter for a chance to win an advance reader copy of this spellbinding debut.


About Adriana Mather

Adriana Mather is the 14th generation of Mathers in America, with family roots stretching back to the first Thanksgiving, the Salem Witch Trials, the Revolutionary War, and the Titanic. Adriana co-owns Zombot Pictures, a production company that makes feature films. In addition to producing, Adriana is also an actress. She lives in Los Angeles where she has a life full of awesome, cats, and coffee.

Author Links: TwitterInstagramGoodreads






Title How To Hang A Witch
Author Adriana Mather
Pages N/A
Target Audience & Genre Young Adult, Contemporary, Paranormal
Publisher Knopf/Random House
To Be Published 2016
Find It On GoodreadsInstagramAmazon.com

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren’t enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop messing with his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials.

Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it’s Salem. But history is about to repeat itself.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

13 responses to “Cover Reveal: How To Hang A Witch by Adriana Mather”

  1. Laura says:

    Thanks for writing about this book! I had no idea about it but I love witches! It sounds very interesting ^^

    I wouldn’t like to be in Salem around the Inquisition period though… ugh I’m more a future oriented person xD
    Laura recently posted…ANNOUNCEMENT: launching reviews in Spanish!My Profile

  2. Bridget Hodder says:

    I’m so excited about this book! How amazing that the author is descended from the original Mathers. I hope she’ll do book signings at the Salem Halloween celebrations next year!

  3. I’m really excited about this book! I preordered a copy. I’m a huge fan of genealogy and history, and have many ancestors of my own from 17th century Massachusetts. Plus it sounds exciting! Still hunting for my own witch though 🙂

  4. Amber says:

    Looks really good!

  5. Awesome cover! Thanks for this giveaway. I’m most fascinated by WWI right now as it’s the time period of my wip.

  6. Lee McFadden says:

    I am a descendent of one of the women who was hanged in Salem. I am interested in this perspective.

  7. Joe Adam says:

    I am looking forward to reading this, Adriana is a talented artist and I can only image her storytelling is equally as talented.

  8. ashley says:

    That is a great cover! Sounds like a super interesting book, I definitely want to get my hands on it!

  9. Jessica Blake says:

    Must read, supper excited for this!!!!

  10. Katrina Woods says:

    Can’t wait to read this book!!! Love the premise and the author’s backstory as well. A modern plot line filled with historical subtext? I’m sold.

  11. Henry says:

    I literally am a witch! And I think I should get the free copy so nobody hangs me…

  12. I am so excited for this one! And that cover is so gorge! I love the 1920s flapper era!

  13. I’ve been looking forward to this book!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge