Double Cover Reveal: The Space Between Lost and Found and Extraordinary Birds (Paperback) by Sandy Stark-McGinnis

Today on Pop! Goes The Reader I am beyond excited to do something I’ve never had the opportunity to do before: A double cover reveal! I’m thrilled to welcome Sandy Stark-McGinnis to the blog as we exclusively reveal the cover for her sophomore novel, The Space Between Lost and Found, and the paperback edition of her beloved debut novel, Extraordinary Birds! Both will be coming to a book store and library near you on April 28th 2020 from Bloomsbury Children’s Books and you can read all about them right now (and enter to win an ARC of The Space Between Lost and Found) below!


About Sandy Stark-McGinnis

Sandy Stark-McGinnis is the author of Extraordinary Birds and an award-winning writer and poet. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from San Francisco State University. Sandy lives with her husband and children in California, where she works as a fifth-grade teacher.

Author Links: WebsiteTwitterInstagramGoodreads


Cover design by Jeanette Levy, Cover art © 2020 by Leo Nickolls

Title The Space Between Lost and Found
Author Sandy Stark-McGinnis
Intended Target Audience Middle Grade
Publication Date April 28th 2020 by Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Find It On GoodreadsAmazonChaptersThe Book Depository

Cassie’s always looked up to her mom, a vivacious woman with big ideas and a mischievous smile. Together they planned to check off every item on a big-dream bucket list, no matter how far the adventure would take them. But then Mom was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s disease, and everything changed.

Now, Cassie tries to keep Mom happy, and to understand some of Dad’s restrictive new rules. She tries to focus on math lessons and struggles to come up with art ideas that used to just burst off her pen. When Mom’s memories started to fade, so did Cassie’s inspiration. And even worse, she’s accidentally pushed away Bailey, the one friend who could make it all okay.

After the worst Mom day yet, the day she forgets Cassie’s name, Cassie decides to take action. It’s time for one last adventure, even if it means lying and taking a big risk to get there. Sandy Stark-McGinnis, acclaimed author of Extraordinary Birds, explores big questions – the kind that don’t always have answers – in a powerful story about family, friendship, and the memories that will always be part of us.



Cover design by Jeanette Levy, Cover art and lettering © 2020 by Leo Nickolls

Title Extraordinary Birds
Author Sandy Stark-McGinnis
Intended Target Audience Middle Grade
Paperback Publication Date April 28th 2020 by Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Find It On GoodreadsAmazonChaptersThe Book Depository

For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting By 7s, and Fish In A Tree, a heartbreaking and hopeful debut novel about a unique young girl on a journey to find home.

December believes she is a bird. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout, and one day soon, she will soar away. It will not matter that she has no permanent home. Her destiny is in the sky.

But then she’s placed with foster mom Eleanor, a kind woman who volunteers at an animal rescue and has secrets of her own. December begins to see that her story could end a different way – but could she ever be happy down on the ground?

In her arresting debut, Sandy Stark-McGinnis offers an inspiring story about family, friendship, and finding where you belong.

As an extra, exciting bonus, Sandy has been kind enough to offer one lucky reader the opportunity to win an advance reader copy of The Space Between Lost and Found! One winner will be chosen at random at the conclusion of the giveaway and the prize will be distributed by Sandy when ARCs become available. Please fill out the Rafflecopter form below to enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 responses to “Double Cover Reveal: The Space Between Lost and Found and Extraordinary Birds (Paperback) by Sandy Stark-McGinnis”

  1. Danielle Hammelef says:

    One memory I cherish is fly fishing with my dad in Alaska.

  2. Shari Sawyers says:

    The last visit I had with my Granny. She was a quilter and we went to a quilt shop where I was inspired to learn to sew a quilt for my baby (I was still pregnant). I think she knew she was sick. She died less than a year later of cancer. I’m so glad we got that special time together.

  3. NANCY says:

    All the summers of visiting my large extended family in Canada. It was very memorial to visit the country as a city girl, plus everyone spoke only French!

  4. Jodie says:

    I love books about Alzheimer in children’s books. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge